Philadelphia Musings

Tonight I sit in my great-grandfather’s adopted hometown of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. The lights below me glimmer from city center out into New Jersey. From my window I can see the part of the world my great-grandfather lived most of his adult life

Paul von Meurers

This photo of my great-grandfather was taken before 1915 and was used in his autobiography. At the time of the picture, he had adopted the name Paul de Meurers.

 

Earlier this week I walked down the streets my great-grandfather named in his autobiography. I was cognizant of occupying the same space over 100 years later. I watched young homeless men preparing to sleep on the sidewalks. Many were the age of my great-grandfather when he, too, was homeless, trying his best to survive on the very same streets.

I visited the site where the Northern Home for Friendless Children once stood. This was the orphanage that took in my great-uncle when my great-grandfather abandoned him. It has since been raised and replaced, but I thought of my great-uncle growing up in that neighborhood—in the shadow of Eastern State Penitentiary, one of the most visually oppressive and notorious prisons of all time.

I also thought of my great-grandfather changing his name from von Meurers to de Meurers, breaking away from his German roots.

Life has changed a great deal in so many ways over the past 100-plus years. In other ways it has certainly not changed enough.

……

Did you enjoy this post? Please like and share. I would love to hear from you!

Thanks for reading!

-Alan

_______________________________________________

My Family Tree:

  1. Emilie Therese Nahrath (See Part Two)
  2. Bernard Paul Hubert von Meurers (See Part Two)
  3. Paul deMeurers
  4. Weldon Paul deMeurers
  5. Me (Alan deMeurers)
Leave a Reply

